simply summer

There’s an abundance of sound in my yard these mornings. As the temperatures rise though, it seems to quiet.

https://flic.kr/p/KfGf2n

It’s a familiar sound and defines the month of August for me.  I look forward to it every year, but this year the whining seems to be thicker.  Are there more of them?  Is it the heat?  No idea.

mock-up nearly complete

mock-up nearly complete

The mock-up yukata worked up much faster than anticipated.   I was surprised how quickly, considering the entire process was by hand (even the stitching).

The cloth came from a friend’s basement – she was clearing out.  As it was meant as practice…it isn’t full size, only 3 feet in length.  I’m not sure much of it is in correct proportion, but it gave me a chance to learn about overlaps and attaching the collar.

In spite of the fabric unknowns, it took the dye far better than anticipated.  Each piece was manipulated exactly the same way, but the dye responded differently with each one, so it may lack a ‘fine consistency’ but I like the differences.

A second yukata is underway, this time it’s full size, so it will take longer to sew.  I’m looking forward to seeing pattern results once the cloth has been through its manipulations.

 

 

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “simply summer”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    love it Susan! looks like just the thing for hot summer weather.

  2. Anita Kaplan Says:

    Beautiful! There is a wonderful book by John Marshall called “Make Your Own Japanese Clothes” that has a ton of information for anyone who has not been exposed to traditional Japanese clothes construction.

    • Susan Says:

      Thanks! Yes! Marshall’s book is probably the best out there (I have a copy) as far as I know. It really is informative, culturally and technically.

Leave a comment