What happened to summer?

I have to ask. It seems to have dissolved in the vat of indigo. A project emerged this spring. No, several projects “appeared” and grew. At least the one did.

Cameron Village Banner

And, it was my own doing.  “We” couldn’t have done the idea or the space (where it was to display) justice, if the project had not ‘grown’.

F.e.B. shirts

There was also custom work – shirts arrived from people I had worked with previously.  So, extra clotheslines were strung to accommodate them as well as the banners.

detail of custom dyed tunic

July brought a workshop on creating Noren – “split” curtains.

noren making, drying outdoors

I don’t think we actually sewed any together, but there was plenty of dye work and of course, that was the point.

At the end of August all of these projects were brought to a close with the installation of the banners at Cameron Village Library. I’ll simply have to write more about that later, but they are currently on display through the month’s end.

Indigo Threads

Currently, I just want to draw you, dear reader, to 2 upcoming workshop opportunities this month and next – they are listed on my workshops page. “Aki” is coming up quickly and “Arashi” follows almost on its heels in early November.

Thank you for your patience and for reading!

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “What happened to summer?”

  1. laura Says:

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful summertime work. I’m in awe…:)

    • Susan Says:

      Oh Laura…thank you. In many respects, summer has been full of the “un-anticipateds”, but I think I needed to be kept fully occupied. And I am very grateful to the folks who provided the work. It was a good thing and as per usual, there was learning along the way – we’re always learning aren’t we? I think those of us who work like this, making, working with our hands, integrating nature in the experience…we’re really fortunate.

Leave a Reply

