a short jaunt

A short jaunt to New Bern, North Carolina’s first capitol, was enlightening. I could have stayed longer but we had a little further to go. Still, we had a chance to examine some of the old gravestones around Christ Episcopal Church and what I thought were stained glass windows.

9138

in the churchyard

Viewing the windows from the outside was a draw, of course.  I wasn’t leaving that town without seeing them in full color.

9141

So, I did go inside and learned that they were not stained glass, but hand painted.  The guide said “museum quality”.

9146A
Then, we drove on to Beaufort, where we caught a ferry to Shackleford Banks where the wild ponies roam.

5421a
We didn’t see them this trip, but the fresh air, soft sand and other natural aspects of the island were refreshing.  Another return trip for sure.

5425
Home again – working on my son’s curtains and preparing for 2 weeks of youth camp at Artspace.I will make a point of finding time for my personal explorations. Definitely. It’s still June, after all – my month.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

