aspects of the floral

I’m sure Art in Bloom has had an influence and I’m sure there will be more responses to it. Aspects of the floral were already on my mind though, as I’ve been keeping an eye on those first spring blooms in the garden.

8454
So, it’s just a natural response to the season.

8499
Along that line, I’m exploring some vintage patterns with similar imagery – something I’ve been wanting to do for some time.

8462
These small “samplers” are on old linen napkins that have come to me over the last few years, including some from my mother. They’re disintegrating and stained, but I couldn’t throw them out.

8459
This one is obviously “boro”, quite worn. The shibori and dyeing of it are just a first step. I also wanted to work this one up quickly while my own “sakura” were in bloom.

4975
This bit of heaven is now slowly disappearing – delicately falling and being carried in the breeze. New green leaves are emerging.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

