nourishment

I know, I’m off “schedule” but hey, who’s looking? We’ll blame it on the season, the sky, the temps or whatever works. Routine is not this week. With the approach of holidays or special events, even if it’s quiet, things are still different. That difference or space between, in the sense of stopping to begin again, resting or simply pausing is what I’m looking for.

4386

detail of the gift

There was some small interaction with cloth this last week though – I need it.  It wasn’t what I consider my usual ‘work’ – but a gift. So, the vat was also not neglected and we had some small conversations which we need to continue in the new year.

4385

Kathy’s brie which fed my critique group – there’s message there, somewhere…

Another source of nourishing refreshment – not just literally. The food was delicious, but so was the conversation, laughter and that strong sense of community – my critique group – that has continued to grow over the many years we’ve been together. Sustenance.

4420

a small suggestion of the kimono, obi and other items – a delight.

An old friend gifted me a collection of  ‘treasure’ from Japan. I’ve been looking at the pieces more closely today and sharing their beauty with some friends. One day they’ll move to a different home as they need to be shared, enjoyed and learned from.

4418

autumnal motifs on a favorite silk kimono

Oriba Shibori is finally in place as it should have been long ago. I’ve long had this in mind but some things, even fairly simple ideas, sometimes, take time.

Getting close to that pause…very close.

Leave a Reply

