Winter is coming

Yes, it’s coming and that change is also something to look forward to. My persimmons predict snow with their spoon shaped centers. I can’t wait to see if this is really possible. You never know.

split "kaki" seeds

split “kaki” seeds

In the meantime however, I’m relishing this season and thoroughly enjoying my current class at Pullen Arts Center. They (my students) are continuing in their explorations in stitch and do seem engaged.

4-7476A 1-3726A

After a week between each session they are ready to dye their projects from the previous week.

5-3734A 7-7481A

After that, “we” look at some new or at least different ideas or challenges for the week ahead.  This week we looked at arashi (not stitching, but could be combined with), and variations in boshi.  So coming up, after a week off for Veteran’s Day, we’ll resume for our last class.

7488A

Chidori or Plover motif – another fall image.

One of our discussions at the end of class was the next workshop. At that moment it was already listed in the new January – April Leisure Ledger – top of p.22.  I’ve since updated my “Upcoming Workshops” Page as well.

sekka1-1B

雪花・Sekka shibori

The topic, apart from shibori & indigo, will be winter and its crystalline manifestations. So, the question is, will we have that white stuff for inspiration or not?  The kaki spirits have been consulted.  We’ll see.

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Winter is coming”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    interesting! i dare say i will never see a spoon design inside my persimmon seeds here…today-91 degrees on Nov. 6. will summer ever end? (and this years heat really hastened the ripening of the kaki…)

    • Susan Says:

      I’d never heard of this until I read the linked article on it. So…who can say? I had some early ripening ones too, pretty small. The later ones got larger, which was good to see. We’re getting to the end of our harvest – a few out of reach. But they have been so tasty! I could wish for a few more trees…so love this fruit!

  2. onesmallstitch Says:

    very interesting – had never heard of this weather prediction method before and as i don’t have a persimmon tree (sad) I can’t test the theory.

    • Susan Says:

      well…we shall see, I guess. I think I might have a snow shovel somewhere. you have to wonder who invented this idea…spoon…shovel…mmhm.

  3. neki rivera Says:

    lovely ai. interesting link about persimmons. the local variety is virginiana, but at the grocers you get either california seedless or more recently sharon variety which is less fragile, seedless, low in tannin and not as tasty.

    • Susan Says:

      Thank you! Yes, I was intrigued with the persimmon thing. I really don’t know that we have a local variety here. One grower here has Fuyu and Hachiya and I found the same at our state farmer’s market, but in my own yard I’ve got a variety called “maru”. It’s smaller than the typical and teardrop shaped. It’s astringent, they say, but I couldn’t tell by taste. I’ve enjoyed every bite! These also have a cluster of small flat seeds.

Leave a Reply

