magic in the moonlight

Indeed the sky certainly has been full of something this week. The eclipse wasn’t visible from my vantage point unfortunately,but I did rise early to see if I could catch a glimpse. The space station skimmed by a couple of times during the week. The moon continued in its growth toward fullness. What a week for things celestial.

10-8moonB ISSgrphc1

While last night’s moon was full, it was not 十五夜・Jugoya or 満月・mangetsu – which take place earlier in August and September. Still, why not pause and do a little viewing? The sky was clear, the air still lingering of summer but with a hint of what’s to come…in North Carolina, it works.

Mangetsu1A 3570B

While the days are still warm but not nearly as humid, I’m taking full advantage of the situation – simply enjoying the autumn light and some time to explore.
autumncolor

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “magic in the moonlight”

  1. neki rivera Says:

    wow the space station! didn’t know it was so visible.

    • Susan Says:

      Umm. Not as visible as that graphic…That image is from an app showing its position seen from my neighborhood. It was moving at a pretty fast pace. I would have had to have a much better camera to capture the real thing and I think that might be possible. In the night sky it was very obvious, a very bright moving object just skimming quietly along. I wonder what would be visible in daylight. The app was helpful in locating the ISS though, because earlier in the evening it was so far below the horizon, the image showed up almost under my feet on my driveway!

  2. neki rivera Says:

    you never stop surprising me 🙂

Leave a Reply

