seasonal considerations

Sakura

Sakura

The buds survived…obviously and are opening slowly. I’m savoring every minute of their bloom time.

Tsubaki springpattern1

Before their blooming though, there were (and still are) Tsubaki (椿) – camellia. I happened to catch a program on the topic on NHK  recently.   The discussion was not just about the different varieties and patterns on the flower, but the context in form (used in making desserts) and textile patterns.  It gave me pause to reflect on the patterns used in shibori and what manifests. This one (above) may not reflect that particular flower, but as I worked at the vat this week, the pattern emerged and saw some connections.

Vat time was brief this week due to cooler temps and rain again, so I focused instead on preparing cloth for an upcoming demo at Artspace (First Friday in April) – it’s listed on my Workshops page. If, by chance you happen to be in the area, don’t hesitate to come by.

At the same time, I’m working on a few seasonal items for the Herbfest in Cary (May).   It’s a day long event – outdoors and sunshine (we hope!).  More details about this can be found on my Events page.

Springpatterns2A spatterns3B pattrns4A

Warmer weather and sunshine are just around the corner, I know it – so much to look forward to. While I enjoy the indoor prep, I also look forward to further explorations in the dye studio (which will take me out into the garden), upcoming events (where I hope we will encounter) and workshops upcoming (again, hope to see you there!).

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “seasonal considerations”

  1. neki rivera Says:

    clever connection between shibori pattern and camelias.
    i’ve been savoring my sakura time here. unfortunately i don’t think i’ll catch it there unless i travel to hokkaido.

    • Susan Says:

      Ahhh! Thanks! I’ll bet we could dig up lots of connections…I think shibori is like that – inventive. Like your phrase “sakura time” – I’m under my tree as often as the weather will allow. It seems it’s either ice or rain lately. Today it’s rain, but we’re due for sun after the weekend. I’m hoping the blossoms will hold out…hope!

Leave a Reply

