red dirt clay

All-My-Relations I am from the red dirt clay.
I sprung up with the kudzu vines and was nurtured by the wrens and finches.
The songbirds were my sisters and brothers. When I was a little child, my mother taught me all of their names. I would walk with my mother through the garden, and learn the shapes of leaves and the taste of sun-warmed vegetables. My mother also worked with fabric to craft clothes and soft comforts for use in our home. The straight pins and the sewing machine were my aunts and my uncle. Today, as an artist working in the medium of textiles, I reunite all these members of my family. I express my deep connection to the natural world using the materials that were with me when I first learned the earth’s name.
Through my work, I share that place of deep connection.
— Cheryl Harrison

http://www.charrisonart.com/index.html
http://artwithayellowbird.blogspot.com/2010/08/from-out-of-clay.html

http://www.paperbuttons.blogspot.com/2014/01/week-2-wall-gate-wall.html

Cheryl was a true friend and an inspiration for the many who knew her – without a doubt.

4 Responses to “red dirt clay”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    what a lovely statement. I’m sorry for the loss of your friend.

    • Susan Says:

      Her words, aren’t they wonderful? Thank you for the sentiments. She will be remembered – gave us a lot to think about – inspiring.

  2. rayela Says:

    Oh, both are so beautiful…. Sorry, Susan! 😦

Leave a Reply

