further studies and inspiration

It’s finally finished!  It took most of the week to complete this and had a little time to move on to other pieces before the rain moved in.

hana1AWith this small series there were any number of approaches to the pattern I could have taken, but for this context decided to keep it simple and also wanted to keep  that reference to the traditional.   It’s a gift, so I’m looking forward to eventually getting it to the recipient (at the proper time – and I doubt she reads my blog!).

So, now I’m  a little more free (I suppose) to pursue the next thing coming – the October & November classes.  I’ve been going through pieces that might be useful to refer to for technique as well as pattern.  I also thought to introduce some departures from my usual.  In that vein, the detail below illustrates one pattern I’ve been considering.

9598A

At the week’s end, I attended the opening reception of Measure of Earth, a collection of pieces (Gregg Museum) on display at the African American Culture Center at NC State. It’s another fabulous, well-considered display and the pieces gave me a great deal to think about. There’s a lot to take in and on this first viewing, I focused on the indigo, The example below is just a small detail of one of the large indigo cloths in stitch resist.

StitchResist3B

As the exhibit is on view into mid December, I will definitely encourage my students to see it.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

