outside influences


3243

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

I’ve been so fortunate to have had a few “behind-the-scenes” experiences at the Gregg Museum. It’s given me some very close up and hands-on exposure to some wonderful textiles that I keep thinking about.

First, I saw some fabulous Nigerian pieces in resist (batik and shibori) – saturated in indigo. Then, there were those small swatches and they were in shibori (and other dyes and colors). Then, in the spring, my friend Janine (who works there) sent me a couple of photos of a piece of cloth.

Apparently, it was from China and was manipulated in shibori and dyed in indigo. So, once again, it was a piece that held interest and I decided to attempt the pattern.

From the image, the reader can see that I did just that, and it is my first attempt. It’s more of a reference than copy, but the pattern is close enough. I considered using silk, but on this first try found the fabric a bit too slippery for the folded ori-nui areas.

I decided that cotton would be best for this first attempt and later found out that the original piece is also in cotton. Even so, I found it a challenge, but would like to continue working with it on different types of cotton and maybe linen (in good time).

In the meantime, other patterns are speaking to me as well. As I work, I can’t help but think about the series of classes Janine and I will be teaching at Pullen Arts in October and November. What will our students want to know?

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “outside influences”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    nice nice nice. i am going away for a week after the upcoming show with some silk, some cotton and needle and thread. can’t wait. seems i just can’t get this type of stitching done when i am here working on oh so many things. thanks for the inspiration.

    • Susan Says:

      Thank you! I’m sure you have a lot on your plate! I can’t imagine when you find time to sleep. I hope you’ll enjoy that “free” time and just play (with that needle & thread). I’m sure you’ll conjure up some wonderful shibori magic!

  2. neki rivera Says:

    ohhh! nice indigo time for all of us 🙂

  3. velma Says:

    gorgeous work.

Leave a Reply

