the next step

tannins in the sun


3285A

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

The pieces from last week have cured, at least to the point where they are ready for the next step and that happened yesterday. They were simmered in tannin, then soaked overnight. Today, they dry on the line, then cure for the rest of the week.

3280A

2nd bath: simmering in tannin

3284A

indigo and “kakishibu”

In the meantime, I’m working between the indigo vat and another tannin (persimmon): kakishibu. The sun’s out for a bit, so I thought I’d better take advantage of it. Apparently, there’s more rain predicted for next week.

It has been 2 years since I processed my first fresh and hand pressed North Carolina Kakishibu and am eager to see those results. I started with a few experimental pieces this week – just a few pieces in cotton. So far, I’ve been building up layers and putting them on the line for drying.

Otherwise, the weather and temps are beginning to behave the way summer does around here, humid and warm. It invites thunderstorms and mosquitoes.

蚊・か・ka —> mosquito

The sound of a mosquito buzzing is 「ブンブン」

būn-būn.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “the next step”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    I’m interested in your kaki experiments. I understand it is an art in itself to prepare. my friend told me he knows someone in Japan who does it and cures the cloth by smoking it! interesting.

    • Susan Says:

      It’s definitely experimental…I don’t have the ideal conditions for storing the stuff, but so far, it seems to be working. Prep is a lot of work, if you’re doing it by hand, but I really wanted to experience it that way. I also “leaned on” my food processor – couldn’t have don’t it without, I think.

  2. neki rivera Says:

    like what i see. kakishibu and ai are a perfect match.
    remember you can also paint the kakishibu on the fabric. lots of experimentation there!

  3. velma Says:

    love this, susan. really nice!

Leave a Reply

