defying the weather


3236

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

It’s the rain – atypical of our usual here in NC. I’ll only use the word, but dare not comment (the gods could hear) as it wasn’t that long ago that we were in a drought.

So, between the drops, the humidity and listening for thunder, I’m defying it. The clouds hang heavy, but my “stuff” is on the line.

After beginning the week with that first alum bath (Cochineal dyeing) I read that it was better for the color if the cloth was allowed to cure for a week or more. I think the same goes for the rest of the baths, so it will be at least another couple of weeks before I actually work with that dye. Patience.

So, while passing the time, other projects are calling to be completed. What’s on the line is some of that: bits and pieces, personal clothing for studio wear, the last “baku” and some pattern practice.

I haven’t mentioned it, but the cicadas are around. I’m hearing their loud cry and have encountered a few that are a bright iridescent green.

Also, all week long, sitting on my desk a small kanji dictionary has been sitting open to a particular page. Coincidentally, the characters have to do with season are on the opposite page of what held my interest earlier.

季・き・ki is the character for ‘season.’
季節・きせつ・kisetsu – season
雨・あめ・ame – rain
雨季・うき・uki – the rainy season

2 Responses to “defying the weather”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    i always enjoy a little kanji with my indigo!
    it’s always nice to hear nature in the background while you work.

    • Susan Says:

      I do rather think they (indigo + kanji) go together very well. Those sounds…I do love those morning sounds, then there are those little night sounds too and lights!

Leave a Reply

