Safflower sprouts


Safflower sprouts
Originally uploaded by SOFennell

The rain has been generous this week and I think there’s more around the corner. Although, at the moment the sun is out (first time I’ve seen it all week).

The first (Safflower) of the sprouts I planted last week emerged and I hope the rest will be along soon. They’re look hearty and plentiful. I may want to transplant some of them later (or start another bunch somewhere else). At any rate, I’m happy to see them.

It has taken far too long to get to this point – just growing them. The flower, the dye and colors they produce have long had an appeal. I’ve seen shows on NHK about the process, and one of Miyazaki’s anime (Omoide Poro Poro) shows a little of the flower harvesting. So, we’ll see what summer brings regarding that aspect of the garden.

2763A

The temps have also been unusually cool, for this time of year (at least it seems) or it’s our blackberry winter.  Although, it may be a bit early for that.  However that is, the cool and gloom have been ideal for staying indoors and making further progress on this quilted piece.

It took a couple of days just to complete the moon and I’m still not sure I don’t need to add a few more stitches somewhere else.  I’m working back and forth between the top most layer and the background layer at the moment, just letting them tell me what the approach should be. This morning I added the han (name stamp & logo) and waiting for it to dry before moving on.

It’ll be back to stitching this afternoon unless the sunshine and garden call.  I’ve got plenty more safflower seeds.  I can plant some and share the rest with the birds.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Safflower sprouts”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    i’ll be watching! sounds interesting. finally got NHK here. it’s really helping my comprehension. still have a loooong way to go though.

  2. neki desu Says:

    safflower does hold an appeal.i need courage to open my packages and try dyeing..

    • Susan Says:

      I really want to try it, but it’s going to have to be much warmer and sunnier here. I suspect it’ll be an outdoor experience.

Leave a Reply

