Baku


First Baku
Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Baku have been on my mind for years as a motif. They are one of many kinds of yokai (mythical creatures) that lurk, cause mischief, are benign or protective.

Japanese lore is full of all kinds that help to explain the mysterious. Although, I think it makes it even more so with a bit of an edge.

 Last year I intended to start a series around Baku and as usual time got away.  I have a postcard with an image that seems to speak to me every time I look at it.   I had in mind to make them as gifts for family – at least the first few.   So they are finally, slowly emerging.  We’ll see what happens.

This is the first one. I’ve used a variety of stitches here – traditional shibori, trying to find a way to express this creature’s characteristics. As he is the first, he is very much like the postcard image.  I’ve decided that I won’t repeat the same motif over and over.  That doesn’t mean I won’t come back to it though.  He also covers a pillowcase, to guard the sleeper, as he is a nightmare eater.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

