Kiseki/”I Wish”

Kiseki4

Roger Ebert, in his comment about “I Wish” on Rotten Tomatoes, says, it’s “built around performances by two real-life brothers who are as unaffected, spirited and lovable as I can imagine, and one of the pleasures of “I Wish” is simply spending time with them.”  Andrew L. Urban adds, “and in the way Kore-eda [writer/director] immerses us in provincial Japanese life is exceptional.”I think they’re holding back.  There’s so much more to this film than meets the eye.

I had the pleasure of watching it last night and will undoubtedly return to it many times.  It’s one of those films – so many levels – not to mention one of the main settings is Kagoshima.  Did I give something away here?

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Kiseki/”I Wish””

  1. neki desu Says:

    touching, endearing film.one of my memorable views of 012.

Leave a Reply

