A gift


A gift
Originally uploaded by SOFennell

This little beauty has been sitting on my desk unopened. It is small, about 3 inches long and less than an inch in height.

It’s wrapped in a very small hankie sized furoshiki of silk. The pattern is itajime shibori and was hand dyed in indigo. I didn’t make it. It’s a gift. It arrived earlier this week and I just couldn’t open it (any other time I might give in to temptation). It has been keeping me company when I work at my desk.

I love the presentation. I love the elegance, especially the knot. It makes that statement perfectly- why we really want to forgo the paper gift wrap and do something like this.  It isn’t just that it’s mottainai,, there’s the aesthetics as well.

It’s a beautiful presentation created by hand and much more. No wonder I’m in no hurry to see the contents of this package. I can wait.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “A gift”

  1. Ronia Krieg Says:

    🙂

Leave a Reply

