the state of mind


Thanksgiving walk

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Right now, I suppose it could be defined as in a vacation state. I’m not vacant, but taking a bit of a respite of sorts. I’m still working, but differently. I’m also preparing for a short jaunt just a little further south – Charleston, SC.

I’ve spent the last few weeks researching the place, as I’ll be in the historic district and plan to do most of my exploring on foot. What I want to see and do will be very accessible.

Over the past years of researching indigo, South Carolina has been a place I keep returning to in that aspect. This little visit is long overdue and I’ll only be scratching the surface in that exploration. It’ll be a mix. It’s bound to be full of delights – can’t wait to see it.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “the state of mind”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    i’ll be interested to hear what you find and see. indigo was tried as a commercial crop in the south when it was realized that a market existed and that slaves could be kept busy year round by growing both rice and indigo. eventually, the market for indigo dried up as buyers turned to SA growers and it was no longer commercially viable. cotton and tobacco then became king. at least that’s my understanding. will look forward to hearing more! enjoy-

    • Susan Says:

      I think you’ve got it. I’ve always been interested in simply seeing what if any traces or evidence there is of it. Of course, you’re aware of Eliza Lucas Pinkney and her story. There’s the Charleston Museum as well as the Gibbs – can’t wait to see what’s there!

  2. neki rivera Says:

    looking forward to your insights.

Leave a Reply

