Swatch book – greys


Swatch book – greys
Originally uploaded by SOFennell

The first piece I photographed (at the Gregg) was a swatch book showing patterns in greys. They had more of an indigo cast and that’s what my camera read as well.

At this point, I should explain that this was a very informal “shoot” – strictly for documentation – to identify the pieces and nothing more. So, the lighting and set up were not ideal (neither was the camera or photographer). I guess this is a disclaimer. I tried my best to keep my shadow out of the images, but wasn’t always successful. Still, the story is there.

As I was shooting these pieces, Janine and I pored over them, looking at technique, speculating about their history and appreciating the handwork involved.

In this case, of course, it was a sample book and I’ve been thinking of just these kinds of things when preparing for my classes. It’s good to have a book of samples. What’s a good way to do that? Here’s one simple and direct approach.

My collection on flickr only reflect some favorite patterns and it was difficult to choose, as there were so many. This is also just a small sampling of what we looked at on Friday.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Swatch book – greys”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    sample swatch books are always a great thing to study! i saw a few in the flea markets over in Japan while I was there and although out of my price range they were very interesting to look at. most of the ones i saw were weaving and dyeing related -no shibori ones. gonna go look at your flickr page to see more…

  2. neki rivera Says:

    i am fortunate to have a small weaving sample book from sensei

Leave a Reply

