for the classroom


itajime

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

As I hung these small pieces on the line this morning, I was thinking about the many ways indigo can be used in the elementary classroom. It must appear daunting sometimes, especially when working with the younger set.

I’ve been thinking about this as I pull my list together for Artspace. It’s due soon and, of course, don’t want to submit it last minute. I feel like I need to work through the activities and possibilities, though, and I’m finding that my list is shrinking.

I’m realizing that the main “ingredient” to my week’s activities is indigo.   It’s almost all I need.  Basically, it will come down to using it in different contexts on paper and cloth, and there are so many.  Indigo has also become much more approachable as a medium.

An earlier concern was also filling the time – 5 days and a little less than 3 hours everyday. It’s a lot of time. I think, though, it will easily be filled and my young charges will have a lot to show for their efforts. It will be fun filled week. In the meantime, “sensei” will keep practicing and exploring.

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “for the classroom”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    love it- some great pieces there! what is the size?

    • Susan Says:

      thanks! they are quite small, about 12″ x 12″ swatches roughly. camera fools the dye, doesn’t it? did them up very quickly yesterday afternoon – a bit chilly – we had a dip. much warmer today.

  2. neki desu Says:

    sensei’s samples are gorgeous. the cobwebs !!

Leave a Reply

