Threads & fructose vat


dyed threads

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

I’ve been captive to the indigo lime/fructose vat lately. It’s been an interest since reading about Michael Garcia’s 1-2-3 vat in different blogs. Explorations would have waited until later in the spring, but as I’m participating in Glennis Dolce’s workshop, it seemed as good a time as any.

So far, results have been unexpected, somewhat disappointing but hold promise. My products have been far too pale. It may be my approach. I can’t be sure, but I also don’t want to keep making up more and more vats. The two vats going now have potential, so I think I’ll struggle along with them for a while.

In the meantime, I was able to use one vat to dye threads to a kind of pale grey (over dyeing  threads in kakishibu), needed for a piece I’m working on. I couldn’t have achieved that as well with a stronger vat.

There are some appealing implications with this fructose vat and one is that it would work well with elementary age students (thinking of my class this summer). I also think they would like it.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Threads & fructose vat”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    I like that it captures the possibility of a very light vat. Using it in combination with other vats.

    • Susan Says:

      I agree…and we need to be able to do that, don’t we? I’m also reminded of a job I did recently where the scarf needed to be the palest – just a suggestion of color. I loved the way it worked.

  2. coloremartine Says:

    i’m in Glennis’s workshop too and also working with the 1-2-3 vat. Colors are pale but after the 5th dip today they got a little more blue. I will put pictures on my blog tomorrow.
    Martine
    http://ateliercolore.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

