Beginnings & Endings


Beginnings & Endings

Originally uploaded by

SOFennell

Well, we are at that point where we say good-bye to one year and look forward to fresh beginnings. I had some of this in mind when I created this piece much earlier in the year. I was being playful (I hope) with the imagery and as usual was being experimental, not sure how the indigo would take on the silk noil.

As far as the theme, rabbits & moons, it’s ancient and it’s also a favorite. I’m sure I’ll be returning to it many times over. There are other contexts, not just the one.

As far as the Year of Rabbit, I had good feelings about it as it began. ’The Rabbit’ was kind and it has been an extraordinary one in many respects. I am very grateful, though, to my family, my posse (Threads), customers, the arts communities, Japan Center, Raleigh Denim and many others who have played a part supporting this maker, dyer….lover of indigo.

In terms of “that” dye, the color, pigment, product (whatever it is), it has been a grand year, as far as I’m concerned. It has been lots of fun and look forward to more experimentation and magic in the next.

        開けましておめでとうございます!

        Akemashite omedetou gozaimasu!

                         Congratulations in the opening of this New Year!

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Beginnings & Endings”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    akemashite omedetou tomodachi!

    i loved that last year was the year of the rabbit- so many great images in japanese artwork come to mind. rabbit and moon of course! so playful!
    now the dragon is fierce and may be just what we need to tame some of the issues facing us now.

  2. velma Says:

    happy new year, susan.
    oh, my dragon! well, time to gird one’s loins. er…

Leave a Reply

