Raleigh Denim


workday

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Raleigh Denim is a seemingly small shop that blends into the surroundings in the warehouse district of downtown Raleigh. Whenever I go there, I have to look closely at those redbrick walls to find that door that “allows” entrance. It’s just one of the many things that I like about the place.

My first encounter was last spring on a tour sponsored by a symposium at the Gregg Museum. It’s difficult to describe exactly what I felt when I walked in except that it could have been a candy shop, a toy store, a magician’s shop…a place that pulled at my inner child. It seemed it was all about indigo (my candy, my magic). It felt like another world and just right – not to mention the ceiling was origami (brown paper airplanes).

Victor and Sarah Lytvinenko also have an amazing story. A recent article in the N&O says, “The shop is a reflection of the company’s philosophy. All of the designers included in the store share Raleigh Denim’s philosophies on craftsmanship, heritage, responsibility and style.” It’s another thing I like about them.

Needless to say, it has been a magical encounter – and it’s in the indigo.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Raleigh Denim”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    I’ve always enjoyed the feel of an industrious shop and an entrepreneurial spirit. It’s alive!

    • Susan Says:

      This place is special, I think. I love seeing what they do and being in that environment. The energy is contagious. I like the
      aliveness you mention too – ikiteiru – 生きている – it’s living (also like indigo). I’ve also been pondering your use of “wonder,” I think it also fits.

  2. neki desu Says:

    such a perfect marriage of craqfts and souls!

Leave a Reply

