the indigo question


Indigo detail
Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Well, the question is, what to do about them? Am I being sentimental? That’s some of it. I did grow them in pots so that I could port at least one to a workshop – which I did and I felt like it didn’t really like being indoors, even for the one day.

I had other sprouts which I planted in various places in the yard where they could get good exposure to sunlight. However, rabbits or similar got to them in no time, or the lack of rain (even though I watered). Things I did to protect, ward off and nurture these plants did no good. Ironically, it was the potted ones (only 3 now) that thrived.

They are still thriving in all of the rain and humidity we’ve been experiencing lately, but things will change in a few days. So, I’m wondering what to do with them.

Should I plant them in the ground? I’ve read somewhere that they are perennial. If I do that, do I want to “trim” the plants for their leaves or just let them die back? What happened to the gardener in me?

I can’t keep them indoors – not enough sun. I really wanted blooms for seeds. That hasn’t happened. I thought by now something…but nothing, just beautiful green leaves.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “the indigo question”

  1. neki desu Says:

    how about inside w. a plant light? i’ll be doing that w. my Capsicum chinense plants.

  2. jude Says:

    i think false indigo is perennial, but not indigo.
    a plant light works.

    • Susan Says:

      I agree about the false indigo. I’d seen something in some of these seed catalogs where it was listed as perennial, but in warmer climates.
      “Frost tender” I think one read. So, it wouldn’t survive here. I’ll have to think about it. They are sort of like small shrubs.

Leave a Reply

