Kakishibu process


Kakishibu process 2

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

The question was, “What’s the next step?” and I’m glad she asked. I left off with fermenting mash, I believe.

It (the mash) sat in covered buckets in my garage for roughly a week. Then, I gathered up handfuls in cheese cloth and wrung the juice out (by hand). One can also use those cotton Egyptian cotton towels, which I used later and prefer, actually.

Some might prefer a masher or salad spinner, I’ve heard they might work. I only did it by hand because that’s how I’d seen it done and I really wanted to do it that way.

I now have almost 4 gallons of kakishibu sitting on shelves in my garage. It’ll need to ferment for at least a year. I’ll certainly want to try some of it after it has aged for that long, but it’s preferable to wait until it’s older.

I also read that sometimes the mash can be processed a second time to produce a lower quality kakishibu which I also did and finally gave the mash up to the compost pile.

So now, I wait. In the meantime, there’s indigo.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Kakishibu process”

  1. neki desu Says:

    if you can wait 3 years i read it gets better. good luck waiting!

    • Susan Says:

      Oh boy! I’ll do my best! I do want to reserve some for aging beyond a year (or more) – definitely! I was surprised though, to see some color on
      the cheese cloth just from the week old juice. I was impressed. So, to compare the differences from year to year…that will be interesting (I hope). Then, there’s the aspect of waiting for color change on the cloth…talk about slow cloth.

  2. velma Says:

    so great that you are practicing kakishibu slow. i think it’s really fascinating, and wonder what else “out there” might cause a dyeing sensation, something like humble honeysuckle berries or some such thing. milkweed juice gathered at the full moon in july, fermented for six years…you get the idea!

    • Susan Says:

      Thank you! I’m really enjoying my little explorations. At this point, it seems to be something you have a limited season to work with it, so that makes it all the more special and precious. And after working with it and indigo, you do begin to ask those questions, don’t you? Certainly our forefathers (or mothers) did a lot of that kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

