cold water indigo


cold water indigo
Originally uploaded by SOFennell

 “A Greener Indigo” about Barbara Shapiro’s work with a non-toxic, environmentally friendly vat, in this summer’s Fiberarts magazine naturally drew me. So, recently, I made up a small vat and have begun experimenting with it.

I’m sure it has its contexts, as I’m finding.   I was lukewarm at first.  This image is a detail from a piece of fabric that was sitting in my garage for quite some time – waiting for the right dye to “appear” – and I think it finally did.

It’s tempting to take the same ingredients down to Beaufort this coming weekend. I wonder what the participants there would make of it?

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “cold water indigo”

  1. neki rivera Says:

    hmm! another thing that’s going to be home waiting for when i get back. bringing back natural indigo and pre reduced from earthues

  2. Cheryl Says:

    love this! The designs are so crisp!

  3. Katherine Baldwin Says:

    This is beautiful! I am sooo looking forward to the workshop. I am always trying to find more environmentally friendly ways to dye.

    • Susan Says:

      Thank you so much! I’m also looking forward to the workshop! It’s going to be a small group, but that may be
      a benefit. At any rate, I’m definitely packing up the ingredients for this vat. I’ll be interested in what you all make of it.
      See you soon!

Leave a Reply

