Remembering


Dad on Shiroyama

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

On my drive to Durham this morning I recalled the many times I traveled with my dad on long car trips. My route to Durham was a little off the ‘beaten path’ – it wasn’t the highway. I could linger a bit and really look. The trips with my dad were the same. Sometimes they seemed a bit harrowing as we might wind up on a narrow mountain road, or we’d get stuck in the mud. It was an adventure, it was risk and that was my dad.

He also always took his camera with him. It was part of his work, but he loved his Canon and the pictures he could take with it.

Kagoshima was the city he loved and Shiroyama was a favorite place he liked to take us. On the way up, we would pass Saigo’s cave. He would tell the story as we rode, and then at the top, there was the view: the city spread below with Sakurajima sitting silent, but powerful, in the bay.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Remembering”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    my dad liked to travel around Japan with his camera too. love this photo of yours with his. a good memory on this day.

  2. Cheryl Says:

    I would like to know the story of Saigo’s cave.

    • Susan Says:

      It’s a bit murky…but apparently that cave is where he played his last game of Go, then met his demise. He led a rebellion on that mountain against the local government and lost. No one really knows how he died (there are many stories), but in the end, he was one the key players in the Meiji Restoration. He is also known as the last samurai. At any rate, that cave held a kind of mystique when I was a kid – I imagined ghosts still playing that game.

Leave a Reply

