pickin’ out stitches

 


pickin’ out stitches

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Actually at this point, I’m taking my usual afternoon tea break. It’s a good thing I had some pieces ready to dye and then work with later. It’s been a quietly exciting day.

I received photos of the family I knew so well back in Kagoshima. The only word that comes to mind at the moment is natsukashii. We have all put a few years behind us, but I see their faces as I knew them. It’s just good to see that they are there and seemingly well. My only hope is that this deai of sorts has not been too disruptive.

So, my thoughts are with them as I cut, unwind threads and catch up with Kouhaku Utagassen, the New Year’s eve entertainment on NHK. I’m behind on my watching. I did catch parts of it throughout the day, but I really wanted to spend some time with it. This year’s theme was Connection through Song, so some of the elements referred to furusato (hometown) or home. It’s a bit natsukashii.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

