Reflections

 


Reflections

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

I haven’t made my nengajo yet – the New Year’s postcard. This morning’s reminder from a Japanese e-card site said it was time to be mailing them out. I really want to make at least one and from fabric. It might have to be a last minute thing, I’m not sure yet, as I’m focused on another New Year’s project. Surely, surely I can do it.

I’ll want to use the rabbit as my main image since it’s the Year of the Rabbit-Usagi doshi -兔年.  I could use any imagery related to the New Year, but I prefer  eto –  the zodiac signs.   A greeting like 「あけまして おめでとう ございます。」is one of many I could use.  Then, I’ll add the year:  2011.  It may be just as simple as that.  There are so many alternative ways to do them.

My message to Kagoshima has been received (very happily) and responded to…meaning, I got a reply this morning! So, communications have begun between our families. I still can’t believe it. It feels a bit like magic.

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Reflections”

  1. neki rivera Says:

    how exciting. start planning that trip.

  2. glennis Says:

    oh yeah…exciting.
    nengajo is a great idea- happy new year to you too!

  3. Beth Says:

    Susan! I love these rabbit pieces! Beautiful! Any chance that you will have them for sale?
    We need to get together soon. After this big storm.
    Beth

    • Susan Says:

      Thank you! So great hearing from you! I will make some others to sell, definitely. These were gifts for my siblings. I really loved doing them, so more, definitely. And I agree, we do need to get together! I keep thinking I’m going to go visit your classroom. Have I got a story for you, by the way….

Leave a Reply

