Silkies


Silkies

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Sometimes things just don’t work out, but it doesn’t mean I’m giving up, not by a long shot. These little guys didn’t survive for some reason. Something made them sick and I have no idea what. Up until now, they were eating voraciously and growing at what seemed a good rate.  I don’t know if it was the leaves or perhaps the room temperature that affected them.  It was cooler than I expected on my return home (from my Missoula trip) and I didn’t pay attention to that aspect of things.

I do have another group of eggs started from week ago, though and brought another bunch out of the ‘fridge today, just to be safe. I’m not giving up, but it does make me wonder and want to learn more about these little creatures.

It also makes me think about the venture in Silk Hope, NC that didn’t work out. Apparently there is no evidence of that industry today.  The only site that I’ve found telling a story about it says that the gentleman grew Mulberry trees, ordered his caterpillars from China, then when they were placed on the leaves, would not eat.

When I read that, I wondered about where and how he learned about the process. It isn’t my approach (not that I’m an expert) and it isn’t how I’ve seen it done in Japan. At any rate, the story is apparently lore and it’s just a thing I think about when raising my own “worms” in North Carolina.

Tags: ,

8 Responses to “Silkies”

  1. glennis Says:

    have you read the book “American Silk” ? I bought it a couple or 3 years ago from a gal (the author) who was selling it at the National Costume Society Convention in San Diego. Fascinating! then, last week our japanese guide for the tour met with some people back east to discuss his grandfather’s photos from the late 1800’s taken when he was a student at a university back there and then. in the room was the author of this same book. i understand she is interested in the tour.
    coincidence or fate? one has to wonder…

    am excited to get started and will be on the learning curve. will look to you for some insights:-)
    i have some cardboard egg crates i was thinking of using for the worms to spin in- do you think that sounds reasonable?

    • Susan Says:

      I haven’t read the book, but I looked it up and looks very interesting! This upcoming tour could be interesting…looking forward to learning more.

      I do recommend egg cartons, a friend used the same and I think they worked well. I cut up paper towel rolls & similar, taped them together to make “condos” and they worked well too. They seem to need a cozy corner. I noticed a quote in that book that said the worms don’t like the smell of frying fish…I wonder if it’s cooked fish…there has been some of that in my kitchen lately (sounds pretty silly though).

  2. velma Says:

    so sorry. i have feared raising moths before just because there’s so much i don’t know. maybe next “litter”.

  3. neki rivera Says:

    why dont you get in touch with michael he seems to know all about home sericulture http://www.wormspit.com/

    i wish i could try it, but one has to draw the line someplace.

Leave a Reply

