Shibori Chinese Butterfly


I mentioned the Chinese Butterfly earlier and it just made sense to continue with that thought.  I love the motif, it’s so simple (it seems) and yet so elusive.  I play with the idea every so often, never quite succeeding.

I’m grateful to the 2 different web tutorials, which seem to be the only ones available at the moment, at least as far as I’ve found. One is a video posted on Magic of Light, Mystery of Shadows. I think the craftsman still keeps a lot of it a mystery with his seeming sleight of hand.

Then, there is Karren Brito’s well documented, step-by-step explanations of the process.  This link takes you to the first step and this next one to the second. A third blog is titled “Chinese Butterflies – Size Matters” and one more short discussion is simply called “More on Chinese Butterflies”.

I think there is a lot more at play here.  It isn’t just the folds and stitching, but the indigo dye vat, the kinds of fabric being used and then again, that soak before immersing in the dye.  It takes a lot of practice to get all of these things in sync it seems, it’s a fine balance.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Shibori Chinese Butterfly”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    it certainly is a fine balance and you seem to have it all working in harmony- lovely!

    • Susan Says:

      Ah, no. The previous image was one I gleaned from the web, just to illustrate the topic. I switched to my own and you can see a difference…still working on it! Could be a thing I’m always working on…

Leave a Reply

