Cary Shibori Workshop


In the studio

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

When the snow and ice finally began to melt last week, I found my way again to Cary Academy. There, another group of 9th graders had an encounter with Indigo dyeing and shibori.

I simplified my approach this time, working mostly with itajime (clamping), also referencing origami and its applications. In the past, I feel like I’ve overwhelmed the students with too many kinds of tools.

Dyeing time was limited, so there were no long or repeated dips as I often do in the studio. Still, I thought the results were good and the students seemed very pleased with their work.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Cary Shibori Workshop”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    good to start them slowly. gives a chance for appreciation and contemplation. a good starting point for their next approach.

    • Susan Says:

      I agree with you. I started them with paper first – folding, then the fabric. I had one student who would’ve spent the entire period just folding, but we had to get the pieces dyed. It was good to see how engaged he was though.

Leave a Reply

