Seaside mindset


Detail 1

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Originally, the plan was to go to the beach for a few days, but things didn’t work out. As things have gone, it’s probably wiser to have stayed home. Still, I’ve kept that mindset, put most of the usual daily aside (with a few exceptions), and continued working on a project that needs completing.

I’ve needed to stop the usual prep and production for one. While I do a lot of thinking during that period, working with needle and thread in a different way seems to have allowed my mind to wander along “that” path again. It has given me time to “play” and think about the memories and other associations, past and present connected with the imagery in this small book.

I suppose I should also make it clear that my mind wasn’t “swinging on a swing” or off riding a bike somewhere.  If those things provide a respite though, maybe…if it helps to take one to that other path.  I’ve needed that other path this week, to travel to other places, if only in my mind and that hesitant needle and wandering thread took me there.

A friend told me recently that you have to let the piece speak to you. I wondered if it would, or would I hear it when it did, or would I understand the message?   I wondered about all of that and hoped something would happen and it seems that things are flowing and that is affirming.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Seaside mindset”

  1. velma Says:

    i like what you’re doing here. can’t wait to see the narrative (it IS a narrative?!) nice!

    • Susan Says:

      Thank you! Yes, I think I would call it a narrative. I can’t wait to finish it. It’s getting there. I’ve been working on it everyday.

Leave a Reply

