“I think about it everyday.”

Takaaki Iwabu phtography - "Going Home" at Helios Cafe in Raleigh

A half page article highlighted Takaaki Iwabu’s exhibit at Helios Cafe (Raleigh) in this morning’s N&O (printed version has images). It has been showing since early this month  and continues through this coming Wednesday.

I may have met him years ago when he was following up on a story at Broughton.   Someone insisted we meet, as I was teaching Japanese at the time (I wonder if that was the only connection?).  We could have had another brush when Artspace hosted Kyoko Nitta and visited  Meredith College (he may have been the translator for the lecture), but I was probably teaching  class at that point and couldn’t attend.  Since then, though, I try to pay attention to his work in the N & O.

So, it wasn’t only his name, but the title of the show as well,  “Going Home,” that drew me in (not to mention the images).  I will have to make it to the show before it closes.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

