Anticipation


Koi blanks

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

It is anticipation. I’ve been working toward this workshop for several months now. The image shows 500, but the total will be 540 plus a few extra. Today, the dark skies and soaking rain made a perfect day for wrapping most of this up. Tomorrow I deliver them to a nearby elementary school and on Monday the workshops begin (K-5).

I would have completed the job earlier if I had spent full days sewing, but I worked production in the mornings and left my afternoons open for personal work. I’ve read that I should be doing the opposite, as my mind is probably at its creative best in the mornings. So, that’s something I’ll be considering when when beginning my next venture.

I grew up with the work ethic: work first, play later (my dad’s words). I carried that idea around for a long time before realizing I couldn’t take that so literally (when was I going to have fun?). Sometimes though, it comes back, and maybe there are times when it’s appropriate.

This project has been a mix. It has been nothing but production, but I’ve stopped to play with the imagery along the way and that’s been fun.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

