October workshop


Rockers

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Stunning is one of many words I might use to describe the environment I’ve been in the last couple of days. There are many others and I don’t know which one describes it best. Needless to say, it was, culturally, a different environment from ones I’ve encountered before. It was delicious to say the least.

Classes in this particular situation, at this time, were small and that makes a difference in any teaching situation. As a result, I was much more at ease and informal in my approach.

I was there to introduce them to indigo dyeing, shibori and as an extra added “bonus, ” silk. If I could have toted silkworms, I would have, but I did bring along images, silk cocoons and a few hankies.

It seemed the students were very receptive to these short workshops and enjoyed the results from their brief exercises. We began with silk handkerchiefs as a warm up to the process, then moved on to the challenge of working with a larger scarf. In some cases, they were very “gymnastic” with their approach, but the results were bold and exciting (which is probably why I like working with students).

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

