Art Fest


Butterfly

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

The art fest is tomorrow and I’ve been working on “presentation,” more like samples and imagery for teachers and other folk to peruse when they come to my booth. From the early response I’ve had so far, I’ll be doing a little more shibori this coming school year than last – so it appears.

I’m thinking now of an upcoming fall residency at a nearby elementary school where butterflies will be the theme and I’m wondering about shibori with 2nd graders. I think they can do it, but it will be a challenge (for some). It should be a challenge. It challenges high school kids, but it’s also not so difficult.

So, this is a first attempt at play. I wouldn’t work with these colors necessarily, probably something brighter and I’m wondering if some stamping, fabric marker or stitching (embroidery) couldn’t be added to help further define the insect.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

