Indigo Koi


Indi-Koi2

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

It doesn’t feel authentically summer until I’ve had a “dip” or soak in indigo. I’m hoping this is just the beginning. It’s the thing I’ve been thinking and slowly working toward for most of the summer. I haven’t been able to get there for one reason or other. My brain has been slow to engage this year and I can’t explain it.

On a positive note, all I can say is, I’m glad I finally got the dye vat going late this afternoon. The mosquitoes were vicious, however, after all the rain we’ve been having. Indigo doesn’t really keep them away.

The image – obviously fish is on the brain – koi, koinobori, kids, workshops and residencies and an upcoming arts festival.  It could be part of a whole.  If I sewed two opposite images, they’d work as a Koinobori.

6 Responses to “Indigo Koi”

  1. jude Says:

    indigo yay! i love your work . i was just browsing again through your flickr set.

  2. shiborigirl Says:

    me too of course! i know- the idea about indigo repelling insects seems a bit of an furui obasan’s tale…when i was working with the indigo dyer in japan i was eaten alive by mosquitos- and i was covered in indigo!

    • Susan Says:

      It’s got to be one of those little “myths!” I guess it’s supposed to be the smell (which would be enough, you’d think).

  3. neki rivera Says:

    the indigo sisterhood interacting 🙂
    doesn’t it refer to the fabric when worn?
    i know the vats act as husband repellent LOL!

Leave a Reply

