Cocoons


cocoons1

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

At this point, I’ve come full circle (or cycle) from the time I started this little venture last spring. Beth gave me some of her cocoons at the school year’s end and I brought them home to await the next and last aspect of this cycle.

At this point, I have 30 cocoons and expect to have 50 or maybe a few less (depends on the outcome). It’ll be roughly 2 weeks before hatching, so there’s still more of a wait before I’m back to the beginning (with even more eggs – yikes!).

So, the questions still remains: what to do with the cocoon? That’s something I have yet to experience and isn’t that the point of all this?

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Cocoons”

  1. Velma Says:

    beautiful! do you have a spindle?

  2. Velma Says:

    a little drop or supported spindle (one of those brass ones) would work well for spinning from the cleaned cocoon or even from roving. for reeling you could use a niddy noddy perhaps? when i spin spider silk i usually have such a tiny amount i spin with my fingers and make tiny skeins around my hands!

    • Susan Says:

      I had to look up “niddy noddy” and I think that could easily work. And you spin spider silk. Do you raise the spiders and “harvest” it as well? I’m intrigued.

  3. shiborigirl Says:

    can’t wait to see what you do with them!

    • Susan Says:

      Me too! I’m making plans to get together with a friend next week and I guess things will get more specific then. I’d love to dye some of the roving. Indigo?

Leave a Reply

