“Silkies”


Silkies1

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

He isn’t the cutest thing in the world, but “he” (or she) is plumping up for the next big event and it has to be soon. They’re suddenly so much larger as they’ve been eating voraciously for weeks now. I feed them several times a day. Although just over these last couple of days they seem to be slowing down…I’m not sure. They are still eating.

This is such an experiment and it’s the first time I’ve done it from eggs. All I can do is watch nature take its course. I did move them from a smaller container to a larger box and added toilet paper rolls (cardboard) in case they start to spin. Beth’s started a few days ago, so mine should start soon.

On another small note, it was my last teaching day…very mixed emotions especially with senior assembly taking place. Some decked out in their purple caps and gowns were my former students. A couple received awards and scholarships, nice to see.

Tags:

4 Responses to ““Silkies””

  1. Velma Says:

    I have been following the “silkies” with interest–I’d love to raise some myself! I have raised a cecropia, totally by accident. And a monarch.

    In the north here, I’m growing flax–the plants are about 5 inches tall.

    Please note new email; I was “phished”.

    • Susan Says:

      They really are interesting to watch. I didn’t expect to do this, but I’m learning about the silk process. The thing I haven’t done yet is actually work with the silk aspect, so I’m looking forward to that step.

      I seem to recall hearing that my great-grandmother (or maybe great-great) grew flax and did some weaving and dyeing. I have some samples of her work.

  2. Velma Says:

    how lucky you are to have that lineage! (linenage). my mother’s birth name was weaver, a circle that “became unbroken” for me when i began weaving.

    • Susan Says:

      I think I’m fortunate that my grandmother made sure that her grandchildren knew this. My grandmother wasn’t quite the pioneering woman, but she did sew and made hats (wish we still had some of them, but we don’t).

      I also lived next to a weaver’s guild (for lack of a better word) when I was a child. I was exposed almost daily to their work, and mostly the sounds of their work. I don’t know why exactly I haven’t done any myself, but I think it’s going to have to happen.

Leave a Reply

