Watching “Grave of the Fireflies”

Grave of the Fireflies/Hotaru no Haka

Grave of the Fireflies/Hotaru no Haka

I mentioned this film in a blog much earlier in the school year, hoping to show it to my students then. I don’t know what happened, but I never did. Then, it dawned on me last week that in spite of having to begin exam reviews, my students needed to see this. We started it last week and one class finished it today.  Discussion will have to wait until our next meeting on Thursday.  My “younger” group seems to be quite solemn as opposed to the older group who wanted to talk through it for the entire viewing (not all of them talked). I’m eager to hear what my quieter group has to say. I don’t know if they’ve been riveted or sleeping.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Watching “Grave of the Fireflies””

  1. whereishenow Says:

    i love this movie but it is so painfully sad and tragic to watch…..

    I would be interested in hearing what your students have to say about it…

    • Susan Says:

      I feel the same way. I connected to it in a lot of different ways. My students…wish we’d had many days more for this one. My younger (or lower level students) seemed to have a more realistic perspective on it. They found it extremely tragic and learning that it was based on reality (as it was the author’ story), even more so.

      Now some of the students in my upper level class had a more jaded outlook. Not all of them were so outspoken, but those who did express an opinion, said that it had a bad plot line(they’d even been told it was based on reality). They felt that it should have had a more uplifting ending. It wasn’t entertaining. They were also critical of the main character (why didn’t he get a job to support his sister?). Not all expressed thoughts like this, but these were the more outspoken thoughts. I was surprised to hear these perspectives, but it’s not inconsistent with some other experiences I’ve had in other classrooms.

Leave a Reply

