Waiting…


silkworm eggs

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Another thing going on in my regular classroom is the anticipation of another springtime event: the hatching of silkworms eggs. Last year, Beth brought the already hatched silkworms to class and was feeding them on mulberry leaves. They spun their cocoons, later hatched and the moths laid their eggs. We saved some and stored them in our respective refrigerators so, we are now waiting for the magic. Will they or won’t they? Beth’s didn’t and we don’t know why. The same could happen to me, but it’s only been a few days and we have lots of patience.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Waiting…”

  1. Michael Says:

    Yaaay for silkworms! I’ve been enjoying reading your blog, and weas delighted to see silkworm eggs.

    • sofennell Says:

      Yes! Hooray for the little buggers! I think they’re so intriguing! I was just newly introduced to them last spring and I think I’m hooked. I also just looked at your helpful website on the same and will have to continue exploring it. So far, it’s answered a couple of questions I’ve had about their hatching and continue to hope that mine will.

      And thanks so much for the comment regarding my blog. I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

