Hachimaki

Hachimaki

Hachimaki

I’m at it again, sewing up the stringy, raveling edges to these yard long pieces of cotton. I have a 2 day residency at the end of the month – roughly 300 pieces or more.  I need to get these things done.  Usually, giving myself a month to prep is plenty adequate for these events.

I started with hemming the edges two days ago and realized the method was too time consuming.  Those finished edges look good, but as this is “production”  practicality has to rule.  Serging the edges seems to be the way to go.  Every time I use my little machine, I learn something new.  This time I’ve learned that spools 2 & 4 are the color most likely to be seen on the backside of the piece, while 1 & 3 are to the front (if that’s the way you want to play it).  I learned this only by accident when I used white thread for “slots” 2 & 4.  So, now I have a “front” and “backside” that the kids can refer to when printing.  I didn’t plan it this way, but it might help.

Leave a Reply

