Magic cloth


Magidetail1

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

This is what I really love about hand dyeing-the magic that happens beneath the surface. It can’t be predicted. I wasn’t sure how it would work considering the fabric. In the end, it softened and I can’t compare it to canvas, except maybe when it’s wet. Spread on a table, it’s wonderful. I love the texture and weight of it-not to mention the pattern. To me, it’s far more than just the material and technique. I love it and can’t wait to share it.

This week, I deliver it to my niece who is an aircraft test engineer. I’m hoping these star bursts, solar flares or whatever they are and whatever else she sees in this piece will serve her well.

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Magic cloth”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    beautiful! it gives me the impression of sun reflecting on water with the other shades reflecting as if shade and light playing together on the surface. it really does seem like you are looking into something deep.

  2. jude Says:

    beautiful work. it is like there is light in the cloth.

Leave a Reply

