Citizenship

shelleywalk11

According to my old paperback New Mirriam-Webster’s dictionary, a citizen is an inhabitant of a city or town.  So, accordingly, I am a citizen of Raleigh.  The second definition says that a citizen is one who “owes  allegiance” to that government or the protection of such.  Citizenship is the status of being such a person.  At least a month ago or more, I was summoned to jury duty.

Of course, it isn’t the first time, but I’ve never actually had the experience of sitting on one.  My reaction, when I got the summons was that it was bad timing.  This was not the month or the year.  Besides, it could potentially inconvenience others (worse case) if I were to sit for more than a day.  I also didn’t want to be out of my classroom.  To be honest, I really didn’t want to do it.  I could have tried to get out of it, but in the end I had to admit, it was my duty, my responsibility.

So, on the appointed day, I made my late afternoon call to see if I was needed.  I was not.  However, I was surprised that I was still summoned to call the next day at noon, which I did, and I was needed.  So I went downtown early to beat the potential bad traffic and crowds (there were none), properly attired and supplied with a couple of good reads (I’d heard you mostly sit).  When I finally arrived in the jury waiting area I was informed that the clerk had forgotten to change the tape and I wasn’t needed after all.   I was given credit for my efforts (they won’t call for another couple of years) and they took care of my parking.  I returned home happily, to take a walk around Shelley Lake which is what I really wanted to do in the first place.

Leave a Reply

