Post holiday

Indigo Noren

Indigo Noren

I told my students this morning (at 8 a.m.) they were so quiet it was eerie. They were so quiet and soft you could have heard a pin drop-so unusual for kids this age! It was post-holiday, but still….Students perked up by 2nd period and by 3rd (Beth’s TOK) they were roaring. That made me feel a little better. It had to have been the Monday Blues on top of the post-turkey (not to mention 1st per. when everyone would really rather be sleeping!). I almost felt the same way, but in spite of a relaxed holiday, it was not too bad to be getting back in the swing. I had been prepping and grading papers 2 days previously, so I was ready, to some extent.

It’s strange to have one quarter split by two holidays. I’ve been experiencing that for some time now, but this year it feels even more so. Time also seems to be speeding up, flying. Living on “school time” makes it even more acute. 10 months are broken into neat 9 week segments and I try my best to fit in a certain amount of material in that time. It doesn’t work and this year things feel even more skewed. I’m hoping things will sort by the end of the semester. I keep telling myself that in the end it’s not important, that’s what other folks say, so maybe I should listen and just enjoy the ride.

A small accomplishment over the holiday was finishing McCollough’s John Adams and I will have to go back and read it again. I don’t even know where to begin. Anything I could say would be an understatement. I couldn’t put the book down, I wanted to savor every page.

In my other life, I’ve nearly completed my 400 hachi maki (20 more to go). I’m nearly ready for my next workshop next week. I ordered a few more fish to round things out and with a few more embellishments to fit the curriculum, I’ll be set. Ahhhh….fish!!

The above picture has nothing to do with the topic (obviously), except that the boy is wearing a hachi maki.  It was taken at the Japan Festival in Atlanta, Georgia many years ago in my pre-shibori aizome days.

Leave a Reply

