Have Fish 2


PGyo5

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

It turns out, we worked in the library as opposed to traveling from class to class. I am so grateful for that! It made things so much easier for all of us I suspect. It was a rainy day, so a good indoor activity for these charming 2nd graders. They took to it in no time and also ran through it the same way. They had fun though and were looking forward to when they could wear their hachi maki home.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Have Fish 2”

  1. Julie Says:

    Love your blog. I have offered to do a Gyotaku activity at my son’s elementary school’s annual Japanese Festival in a couple of weeks (his school has a Japanese Immersion program). I have done this on a small scale before with preschoolers and even toddlers, using rubber fish replicas. Just wondering if that is what you used with your students, as well as what type of paint you used. Also looking for a recommendation for cheap fabric or even a good type of paper to use for this for the best result, but on a limited budget. Any tips would be most appreciated!

    • sofennell Says:

      Thank you so much for your comments! I really appreciate it! Regarding Gyotaku, I also use the fish replicas. For the age group, numbers I see at a time (around 20 or more) and in a classroom setting, this seems to work best-at least for me. I have yet to use paper, but sometimes I wonder if that wouldn’t be more practical. However, I also like sending them home with the ability to wear their art. I use the most inexpensive muslin I can find in my local fabric stores and I also use Speedball textile printing paint. It’s non-toxic and water soluble. Hope this helps!

  2. Julie Says:

    I meant to click the box below with my last comment, but submitted my comment before I did.

Leave a Reply

