To market, to market…


Arashi shibori

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

I’ve been re-discovering my Welsh ancestry this last week along with “meeting” a very distant cousin. So, tonight my sons and I watched a refreshing little film that references the Welsh: I’ll Be There. It’s lightweight, humorous with a little music.

I’m also preparing for a small market, coming up at the end of the month. I’ll sell scarves, tunics, furoshiki and maybe a jacket or two. I spent my weekend time finishing furoshiki, doing inventory and beginning prep for another gyotaku workshop in November. I don’t feel particularly pressured as I already have a good inventory (at least where scarves are concerned).

I’ve been doing this market for the past couple of years now. It’s small but known in the community. With teaching language and doing workshops I feel like I have enough to do, so production is not my main preoccupation this year. Although, my workshops have an element of production to them and that may be quite enough at this point.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

