Sunrise in the American Inaka


Sunrise3

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

Do all sunrises look alike? I should think not. I don’t often see them quite as fine as the one this morning. I was on my way to Princeton to present another encounter with gyotaku. I took the long route, the scenic route, and as I rode the sun rose. I pulled out my camera, started shooting and couldn’t stop.

The workshop was all day, where I met with about 137 fifth graders (in different classes). I was sure I’d be exhausted by the end of it, but instead I was exhilarated. It was fun and it affirmed the decision I’d made earlier in the week-to resign my language teaching position (which I have done). I’ll see it through until the end of the school year.  My second levels need that second year credit.

I’ve had second thoughts of course. This isn’t the best time to shift into the unknown. It’s actually a little scary. I’ve stubbornly held onto the job for so long that my life has just built itself around it. Come late August every year I fall into old patterns. It’s comfortable in a way. I will truly miss the challenge and the students. I like teaching, I like teaching the language and I like high school kids. I can’t stay though. It’s time to go and pursue something new (or old and steadfast, like art). So, today, my small “adventure” into the American inaka (countryside) was a step into that open doorway.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Sunrise in the American Inaka”

  1. shiborigirl Says:

    wow! that is a big change. i am sure you will miss it but i am imagining all the things that will unfold ahead of you!
    137 students for gyotaku…now that sounds like fun and hard work at the same time. will you post photos to your flickr photostream?

    i was all set to do some gyotaku on silk shibori dyed fabric but my fresh fish shop in the neighborhood just closed-darn! have to go down to the pier for a good selection…..

    anyway- i’ll be looking forward to your new path!

  2. shiborigirl Says:

    ps- your inaka link isn’t working….

Leave a Reply

