More shibori


Banners & curtain

Originally uploaded by SOFennell

I put off lessons for some dyeing today. I meant to do it over the weekend. Other things happened. However, I was determined to get to this before the rest of the week took over.

My son requested hand dyed curtains for his apartment. I’m not sure they’re the right size, but they will cover his windows and they are aizome shibori, as he requested. I still have a few more panels to go. They were bought commercially and are made from either a heavy denim or canvas. Between the weight and length, I found it quite a challenge. I was mostly concerned about the patterning, but it worked.

The smaller pieces are banners for a gyotaku workshop at an elementary school (next week!). They requested banners and maybe I should also take white, but I thought they could print the fish on the shibori just as well (I thought the blue might convey water…). I guess we’ll see how all of that works out. All that remains is to finish the edges and make a casing.

I especially enjoyed “throwing” together the curtains.  Unlike most of my projects, there was no planning at all, just doing.  My mind wandered and played with the imagery while they dried.  I’ll definitely try it again, but not on a curtain.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

